School

“School”
Often related with memories beautiful,
Fun, laughter & endless stories,
But it reminds me of mishappenings purely!

It was the first time I was called a whore!
My mistake?
May be I was prettier than most. (Not sure though)

It was the first time I was cornered on a deserted street.
My mistake?
I didn’t let him play Holi with me!

It was the first time my guy friends were threatened!
My mistake?
Just that I was their friend!

It was the first time my teacher molested me and my friend.
Our mistake?
We trusted and respected him!

It was the first time I was called names randomly.
My mistake?
That I used to perform and dance beautifully!

It was the first time my father received a dirty text,
Mentioning that multiple times I’ve had sex!
Though my father didn’t question me once,
I realised my mistake,
That i was a girl!

It was the first time I felt terror so palpable,
That going out alone, even to the shop next door was unimaginable!

You’d think, why didn’t I report?
Well there wasn’t one but many, and most of them unknown!

And that’s not even the part worst,
It’s that seven years later
I still curse,
The moment that I’ve to come home
Because of the memories etched in my soul!

Whether it’s for days, weeks or months that I stay,
I still don’t step out of my house, no matter what anybody says!
I could feel the fury raging inside of me
Because they destroyed,
Destroyed what was supposed to be my favourite place!

Seven years,
And I still quiver,
Seven years,
And still the streaming tears,
Seven years,
That crept between me and my parents,
Seven years,
And my hometown feels the place most alien!

They say school is the place to learn and grow.
For me it’s the place of haunting memories & sorrows!

It’s a bittersweet experience for everybody else,
For me it was as bitter, as it could get!

Drained emotionally,
Exhausted physically ,
With terror incorporated in each cell,
I… Finished my school!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑